David Beckham

The guy made me feel like a kid again. I’ve been excited watching Ireland games the past five or six years and I always will be but watching Beckham make his Galaxy debut last night felt really special. Maybe his stint here will amount to nothing and maybe ESPN and the American media seem to be doing everything in their power to make people not appreciate soccer and get sick of his face as quick as possible, but the man is the real deal and the best thing to happen to soccer here ever. Period. It was like watching the last ten minutes of an inspirational sports movie over and over again, except the main character wasn’t inspired by the sport but the sport was inspired by the main character. I only hope that someday something here in the States can remind me of what it was like to be in Ireland watching the games when the Irish national team made it to the World Cup for the first time and finished in the quarterfinals.

I can’t wait to see him play in person in their first home League game.

In other soccer news, it was another loss for Footballers United today as we went down 2-1 to Cobra Kai. They previously hadn’t won a game yet this season and lost their first match 10-0 so we were confident before hand. We even had a 1-0 lead at half time but somewhere it all went to shit. As for me, I had my best game yet with a shot on goal that should have gone in and a clean break that was dubiously called offside. I also played some neat balls and rarely turned it over. I still can’t last more than 25 minutes at a time and I run out of steam pretty quick but I’m happily no longer the worst player on the team. Rediscovering how amazing playing the game is has been a major highlight of my summer.

This entry was posted in miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

