ADR

Luke and Brie Are on a First Date still exists, I assure you. Charlie and myself have been laboring over the sound for the past two weeks or so and yesterday we had George and Meg over for some makeshift ADR sessions. Basically, Dugan hooked up a microphone to his computer and garageband and put a blanket around his living room table where the actors sat and talked into the mic. I was manning the DVD player which played the original recordings and I just had to keep rewinding and playing and pausing so the actors could hear themselves and then repeat it over and over again. In a hilarious prank, God decided to make the one and only day of the year that L.A. gets torrential rain be the day we are trying to record pristine sound in a ghetto manner. Thanks big guy.

To my amazement however, this all worked like a charm and the three scenes we replaced audio with now sound infinitely better. Yesterday evening I was as excited about the movie’s prospects as I’ve been in a long time and it was great relief coming after a stressful time of worrying about the sound. There’s still one major issue to be dealt with I’m not completely sure how we’re going to tackle it, but for now, I’m happy. We ship off our screener to Sundance this week and wait for our rejection. New trailer should be on the way soon as well so keep your eyes peeled. In the meantime, here’s a peek at our editing lifestyle.

This entry was posted in luke and brie. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ADR

  1. Dugan says:

    you know, I actually have pictures of George and Meg doing this ADR, you just keep forgetting to grab them from me.

Leave a Reply

