SXSW

The full lineup for the 2008 SXSW Film Festival was released today and even though I’ve known for a few days that Luke and Brie Are on a First Date did not make the cut, I haven’t been able to blog since I don’t yet have the internet at the place I moved into. Side note, our new place is pretty sweet and as soon as Tara and I get everything in order, I’ll try to post some pictures.

But back to the festival. It was a dagger to get the rejection letter, no way to mince words about it. Attending SXSW in 2006 with the rest of the Dance Party USA crew was one of the best and most inspiring experiences of my life so I am very sad to be missing out on repeating that. But perhaps repeating history is not what we should be focused on. I really wanted to get in to SXSW because I knew what that meant for the trajectory of our film based on Aaron’s two experiences. I felt like I could easily envision what would happen next and how. But now it seems that if Luke and Brie is to ever become a success it will have to follow its own path and that may turn out to be more rewarding for us in the end. I don’t know. Maybe I made a bad film and I’m delusional about it all. But the fact is that the movie still wasn’t done when we submitted and there are lots of festivals out there besides South by Southwest. I won’t give up just yet and still hope that you’ll be able to see this film somewhere someday.

Quick sour grapes moment- It’s hard for me to get excited about the lineup knowing that we weren’t included in it, but even if we had I don’t think I would be remotely inclined to see movies like 21, Stop-Loss, Forgetting Sarah Marshall or Helen Hunt’s directorial debut Then She Found Me. Nor do any of the films stolen from Sundance, aside from Baghead, inspire much more than a shrug from me. Hopefully there are a bunch of gems hidden among the titles that don’t feature recognizable names and I’ll be anxious to hear back from Katz on what’s worth checking out.

That’s right folks, Aaron Katz will be in attendance for the third year running as a panelist and with his short film Let’s Get Down to Brass Tacks. Make sure you check it out if you’re going. Also I want to congratulate Joe Swanberg for getting a fourth consecutive SXSW premiere for his new film Nights and Weekends. The rate at which this guy produces movies is out of control and so is the fact that his co-star and co-director Greta Gerwig is in three movies playing at the fest. Catch her in Yeast and the aforementioned Baghead as well. And finally, an old classmate from NCSA, Jerzy Gwiazdowski, stars in the Emerging Visions feature Natural Causes, which I have never heard of but if it’s half as good as the Broadway production of “The Lieutenant of Inishmore” that I saw Jerzy in last year, it’ll be amazing.

This entry was posted in friends, luke and brie, miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to SXSW

Leave a Reply

