Bachelorette

If you happen to read what I write on this blog then you know I’m not easy to please when it comes to films. And as it happens, I’m even more difficult to please when it comes to theatre. That being said, Sean, Tarah, Tara and I went to Hollywood to check out our friend Leslye Headland’s latest play “Bachelorette” on Friday night and I kept my expectations low. Why I did this, I’m not sure. We saw her previous play back in November and were bowled over by it’s maturity and craft yet I still came with doubts. Perhaps that makes me a bad friend, but it also puts me in a position to say that I was pleasantly bowled over yet again. “Bachelorette” is a great piece of theatre waiting to be attended by you and your friends and you should do so at your earliest convenience. Don’t believe me? Let the Los Angeles Times persuade you. . .

“Headland has assembled a dynamic cast, and she puts her terrific performers through their paces faultlessly. And if her play has a few wrinkles, it remains an effectively scathing piece that redefines the notion of female bonding.”

Or how about the LA Weekly. . .

“Headland’s ear for taut, brittle dialogue makes for some cruel, but scathingly funny, exchanges — and the performances nicely balance the characters’ personal weaknesses with unexpectedly sympathetic vulnerabilities.”

www.iamatheatre.com

This entry was posted in friends. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

