Penalty

Last Saturday I took part in an all-day soccer tournament in the deserts of Duarte. It was co-ed 8v8 on half fields with half size goals. Fifteen minute halves with no half time break. Three games in the first round and then the quarter-finals and onward. My team made it all the way to the semi-final where we tied 1-1 and had to go to a penalty shootout. Needless to say, I was already practically crippled at this point because I’m extremely out of shape and I’m not used to playing 100 minutes of soccer in one day. I had also missed a handful of great chances during the games and only scored one goal so my confidence as a striker was in the gutter. We were down 2-1 in the shootout so I absolutely had to make my kick in order to stay in the game. Gil was good enough to take video of the event and here it is…

Vodpod videos no longer available.

This entry was posted in soccer. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Penalty

  1. Anonymous says:

    you’re the LeBron James of pickup soccer

  2. Dugan says:

    you’re the LeBron James of pickup soccer

  3. Dugan says:

    I guess that blows my cover as anonymous

  4. Anonymous says:

    That goalie is never gonna let that one down.

Leave a Reply

